The Carrageenan Controversy

carrageenan has been used in traditional food preparation for Countless years and is a vital part in a number of vegetarian and vegetarian organic foods. Today, however, critics have been calling for a ban. Is carrageenan safe? Nutrition Diva forms throughout the evidence


Carrageenan has been the subject of a good deal of Controversy and several of you have asked me to comment. For those that may not be up to speed on the topic, permit me to start with a quick overview.

What is Carrageenan?
Carrageenan is an infusion from the red seaweed generally called Irish Moss. This edible sea grass is native to the British Isles, in which it’s been utilized in traditional cooking for hundreds of years. In addition, it’s widely used in the food business, mainly because a thickener and gelling agent. You’ll discover it in ice cream, cabin cheese, non-dairy milks, jelly, pudding, along with baby formula. Unlike gelatin, which is made from animal products, carageenan is acceptable for vegans.

Who would have thought that this historic, natural, Plant-based ingredient can finally become center of a swirling controversy? But it definitely has. Some scientists have demonstrated proof that carrageenan is very poisonous and inflammatory into the digestive tract; additionally argue that it may possibly be accountable for colitis, IBS, rheumatoid arthritis, and sometimes even colon cancer. Equally honored scientists also have detailed that the reasons that this evidence is faulty and misleading and therefore concluding that there is no valid reason to forbid its use.